FO: Seersucker Puppet Show Shorts

31 May

More Puppet Show Shorts. These are so easy I literally made 1.5 pairs in a day that included all the regular daytime activities. In other words, I worked on them at naptime and evening, and I even did a little writing, too.

Here, A is singing “Gymbo’s going up! Gymbo’s going down!”

The seersucker is so adorable. All she needs is a bowtie (and a mint julep) and she’d be ready for the Carolina Cup. As it is, it’s already so hot that we mostly confine ourselves to splash pads and trips to Barnes & Noble.

Inadvertent chevron stripe-matching.

If you see something like “AOE;HIRA;LGKJ,” don’t worry: that’s just my head hitting the keyboard. I’m putting myself through a Dissertation Boot Camp, where I wake up at 5 every morning to get an hour and a half of writing in before things get going. In between multiple freelance projects, trying to beat a thrice-rejected article into submission, cleaning the house, cooking semi-regular meals, taking care of a toddler, and–oh yeah–prepping for an interstate move, the diss kind of loses that sense of urgency.

Those are almost little-girl legs!

There’s another pair of these shorts in the future, already cut out and waiting. I’m also working out some kinks in the Sorbetto top. Fitting: it’s a total mystery. I wish I had some nice wizened old tailor to teach me … or at least a dress form.

I managed to get the shorts to gather into the bias binding this time. Turns out (big surprise) it was user error.

Leave a Reply

