FO: Oliver + S Bias-Trimmed Apron

5 Apr

Oliver + S are true to their word: these are little things to sew,with small amounts of fabric and manageable construction. I want to make everything, but I started with the bias-trimmed apron–not because A needs an apron, but because I had these two fabrics lying around and I’m desperately trying to destash.

Image

Look, someone else's backyard for a change!

The polka dots are leftovers from a fairly successful pillow project, which I’ll post eventually. Now, four and a half yards of bias tape is a lot of bias tape, but, with my trusty bias tape maker in hand, not so bad. Here are a bunch of versions, super cute!

Image

That red car in the background is hot property.

I could *not* get the wrinkles out of the canvas. I also am not very good at applying bias tape, unfortunately. It’s always a lot harder than I expect it to be. Other than the bias tape, this was a very easy project. When I held it out for A to try it on, she screamed, “No! No!,” and I had to bribe her. Luckily, she’s easy to bribe: I said, “Put it on and we’ll go outside,” and then she didn’t want to take it off.

Image

My mom informed me that A needed a haircut. That makes two of us.

And in exciting circle-of-life news, I think we found A’s nursery school: Namaste Montessori. It reminds me so much of my childhood Montessori School that I got a little teary when the director was describing the toddler class.

Image

OMG, look at her adorable little scrunchy face.

And just a short quotation today, from the perennial Happy Golden Years:

“I’m so glad Ma told me to bring this big apron … I like a real big apron that covers your whole dress, don’t you?”

3 Responses to “FO: Oliver + S Bias-Trimmed Apron”

  1. Karen @ Folk Haven May 24, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I’ve really been enjoying browsing through your site. I just LOVE this apron. If my next one is a little girl I’m sure I’ll be making this in a few different sizes. I really like your choice of fabrics.

    • firstmute May 24, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      Thanks! I just checked out your blog–I’m in love with that cardboard piece! After we move I might have to repurpose some of the boxes.

      • Karen @ Folk Haven May 25, 2012 at 12:21 am #

        Have fun! We’ve had such a blast with the whole process. Good luck with the move. May it go very smoothly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

