FO: Owl quilt

15 Dec

Yes, this quilt is a little ugly. Owls are big around here right now, a close first ahead of trains, and it’s adorable when A points and says “oww! oww!,” so, when she spotted the fabric at Joann’s a few months ago, I bought it. This is what you get when your fourteen-month old (now seventeen-month old) picks out the fabric.

I pieced it pretty quickly and then let it age for a while while I contemplated my next steps. Quilts are a craft I’ve never had too much interest in, since they require a precision that’s not really my forte, and anyway my sewing machine is not really designed for anything more than casual use.

Also binding is my nemesis.

It turns out, my thanks to Made by Rae, that you don’t actually have to attach binding–you can use the backing itself, which I even think I like better than separate binding.

A seems to like it. I’m not totally satisfied with the color choices, patterns, or evenness of the stitching or cutting (which I realize is pretty much everything, for a quilt), but the overall effect is cute.

Also, I figured out that the real hindrance to my crafting is not actually lack of mojo or lack of time. C just bought a new game for his Xbox, and suddenly I have all the time for crafting I could possibly want!

2 Responses to “FO: Owl quilt”

  1. Rae December 15, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Those men are NOTORIOUS for cutting into our craft time!!! 😛

    • firstmute December 15, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      For real–always wanting to, like, spend time with you and stuff!

Leave a Reply

