FO, sort of: Simplicity 3511

21 Sep

I wish I had something better to show for the past two weeks, but the fact is that I don’t. This project was frustrating. I expected it to be easy (the package even claims to be easy-to-sew), and I guess it wasn’t exactly hard, but there were some time-consuming bits. Sleeves always add an extra day for me, and I had to unpick and resew the yoke because of a stupid error, and the fabric was cheap and so I could never get it quite true. That’s why the body of the dress looks a little slanted. I admit that it looks a little Laura Ingalls, but shortening it and adding some leggings will updated the whole thing.

The kicker is that it’s much too big for A right now, so big that there’s not even any point in taking pictures, much less hemming it. So instead of cute baby pictures, I have only poorly exposed hanger-on-a-door pictures. I know that it’ll fit her great sometime next year, but after all that work I would like to ooh and aah over an adorable baby in a dress.

Despite the agony, I’m pleased with how it came out. The sleeves went in perfectly, and everything nicely finished and lined up. Oh! Except for the buttons. My machine just doesn’t do buttonholes–it claims to, but it lies–and the zigzag isn’t even enough to manually sew it, so I have no choice but to do it by hand or to use snaps. I think I’m going to go with snaps.

I love a set-in sleeve!

Next up: when I was at Joann’s two weeks ago, Abby went nuts for a bolt of fabric, bright blue covered with stylized owls. I bought it for her and am going to try my hand at quilting. Let’s see what happens!

One Response to “FO, sort of: Simplicity 3511”

  1. chicaandaluza September 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Thi is gorgeous – love the fabric. Shame you´ll have to wait until it fits 😦

Leave a Reply

