FO: The Kate Dress

3 Sep

This dress is Frankensteined out of some scrap fabric and a onesie, both of which were gifts–well, the scrap fabric was just a leftover–from a lovely friend, hence the name.

This doesn't look like a baby who woke up at 5.30 this morning.

A started wearing this onesie at 6 weeks and fit into it until about 6 months. I know for a fact it was six weeks, because I took an iPhone picture to send to my friend.

A rare moment of non-crying.

When I could no longer squeeze it over her butt, I chopped off the crotch* and sleeves and made a dress. There’s not too much to say about it: if I had a serger, I would have serged the edges of the sleeves but as it is I just zigzagged them tightly to make them ruffle and to finish the edges. I just used up the fabric I had for the skirt and turned a narrow hem.

She's about to stuff one of those flowers into her mouth.

I was not too sure about the results at first, but now that she’s fits into it, I think it’s pretty cute!

Yum yum!

I didn’t use a tutorial for this, but they do exist. This is a nice one over at Prudent Baby, and here is a fancier one that I might try.

*I’ve noticed a lot of craft bloggers apologizing for the word “crotch” or looking for a different one. But why? It’s the technical term for the area, isn’t it?

6 Responses to “FO: The Kate Dress”

  1. Kristine September 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Great project – that dress is adorable!

    • firstmute September 4, 2011 at 1:03 am #

      Thanks! I was surprised by how cute it turned out.

  2. jellyspoon September 3, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    omg! i know that fabric! i know that pigeon! i love it yosie. ruthie also feels strongly about it. i know because she’s walking across the keyboad.

  3. jellyspoon September 3, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    and yes–crotch is a technical term! used for trees too, right? what’s one supposed to do?

    • firstmute September 4, 2011 at 1:03 am #

      That’s just what I thought–trees. Oh, well. I guess it’s the same reason breast and thigh became white meat and dark meat. And crotch is kind of an ugly word.

  4. stitchandpurl September 4, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I love the dress, such a great way to give loved clothes a new lease of life!

Leave a Reply

