FO: Candy Cane Cladonia

19 Aug

Something odd happened with this Cladonia: it’s too small. It’s supposed to be 52 inches across the top and 19 inches high, but mine is more like 45 x 17. Maybe I started the lace too early, or maybe the yarn didn’t grow as much as the pattern yarn, but it is definitely smaller than I expected. A good blocking helped, but not quite enough.

Blocking. I didn't pin out the edging, but I used wires and pinned at the top and botton of the lace section.

And it’s definitely long enough for wearing around the neck, which is pretty much the only way I wear shawls anyway. I decided not to pin the edging because I just didn’t like the way it looked, and stiff points, in my experience, do not last in this kind of humidity.

Love the lace pattern! Geometric and non-fussy.

Gee, it’s hard to take pictures of yourself!

This is the best picture I could take of myself. I should probably do something about my hair, hmm?

I really loved this pattern. The lace was simple to follow and the stripes de-fuss the whole thing. Yes, the looped picot edging sucked, but I powered through.

This was a quick, easy, satisfying knit. I haven’t had much knitting mojo lately, and finishing this project gave me a nice little boost.

Please ignore the basket of laundry in the background. It's clean.

Pattern: Kristin Kapur’s Cladonia [Rav link]

Yarn: The yarn is a combination of undyed koigu and some yarn that was dyed locally in Salt Lake, which I got from Three Wishes Fiber when we were visiting C’s family over Christmas.

Notes and mods: No mods except that I didn’t pin the edging during blocking. I still can’t quite figure out the sizing, but I’m really happy with this. I was afraid at first that it would turn out too Christmas-y, and, yeah, it is a little Christmas-y. But I like Christmas! It’s a great holiday, and now I have a scarf to celebrate it!

Would I make it again?: I would absolutely make this again. The stripes make it a good stash busting knit, and it would also be excellent travel knitting.

3 Responses to “FO: Candy Cane Cladonia”

  1. stitchandpurl August 19, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Love your colour choices – doesn’t look too Christmassy to me; just like some delicious berry ice cream maybe… šŸ™‚ Very sweet!

    • firstmute August 19, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Ooh I like that! And now I want some delicious berry ice cream.

  2. Ricky August 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    This is really pretty! Nice work.

Leave a Reply

