Whoa! a FO!: Sadie Shirt, take two

16 Jun

When I was a wee first-year grad student, a faculty member whom I admire and respect greatly told a friend of mine that she should take at least 1/2 hr a day to do something for herself. When my friend told me that, we had a good laugh: we both insisted that we needed hours and hours a day to ourselves to craft, cook, work out, read, watch TV, what have you.

Well, now I’ve married and spawned, and I can tell you that I would jump at the chance some days to have 1/2 an hour for myself–especially this week. You see, my babysitters (mom and dad) have both been out of commission lately, so all my spare time has gone to writing my dissertation rather than crafting or blogging. This has understandably made me a little cranky, so I decided today to take a mental health day and finish up my second attempt at the Sadie Shirt. (First attempt here.)

I thrifted a men’s XL Gap shirt a while ago and had it earmarked for a little shirt for Abby. After redrafting a pattern with a lot more wiggle room, I cut, sewed, and ended up with this:

A little assistance from Granddad in remaining upright.

Cute! It only took a couple of hours, and would have taken even less time if I had not: 1) sewed the right to the wrong sides; 2) had to recut the placket and ruffles; and 3) sewed the right to the wrong side of the placket and ruffles. I have absolutely no spatial sense, friends. (You might justly point out that sewing is not the best hobby for someone who has no spatial sense.) I’ve learned to be content with imperfection and to be resigned to having to pick out at least as many seams as I set in.

Can you see the dirt in her neckfolds?

I’m pretty thrilled with this. Except for a few stray threads, it looks almost professional. Chris and I wandered through a Wal-Mart the other day while waiting to go see a movie, and I inspected the seams of a few of their rompers. Blech! Compared to that, I have no reason to be ashamed of my insides.

Going after the dog.

Well, I’m still too ashamed to take pictures. That day may come. In the meantime, here’s another picture of the placket:

2 Responses to “Whoa! a FO!: Sadie Shirt, take two”

  1. Jessica June 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    LOVE it! Thanks for sharing! The checks are adorable. 😀

Leave a Reply

