WIP Wednesday

2 Jun

I meant to post this yesterday, so we’ll count it as WIP (Work In Progress) Wednesday.

This is Jared Flood’s Pavement in Brown Sheep Nature Spun Worsted, which I’m making for Chris. I love the way it looks and I hate knitting it. First of all, I hate making scarves. They take forever, they’re boring and repetitive, and, in this particular case, cabling every fourth row is slooow. The pattern is also a little more difficult to memorize than I expected, so there are a few miscrossed cables. Add to that black, sticky yarn, and it’s not even good TV knitting. Oh, well. It’s not like he’s going to need to wear it anytime soon.

This is Milo, made out of some wool my brother brought me from Iceland and with a little colorwork to make it fancy. As you can see, I’ve just about run out of the blue, so I’m going to have to rip and stripe the garter yoke. Can’t face that at the moment.

This is actually finished: it’s a calorimetry, in some yarn that I can’t recall. I’m including it in WIP Wednesday because it looks terrible on me. To give away? To rip and make into fingerless gloves? I only have about 90 yards, so I can’t do too much with it.

8.30 in the morning, and Abby has already covered herself and the table in cream cheese.

And this is the beginning of a swatch in some Araucania that my mother-in-law gave me for Christmas. (Knitters are easy to buy presents for.) I am thinking of a sleeveless yoked cardigan for Abby; maybe a version of Tiny Tea Leaves or Shalom? Knitting ahead for a baby requires a leap of faith, since I have no idea what size she’ll be when it gets cool enough to wear wool again.

And finally–since I do actually have a job, of sorts:

Incriminating details have been blurred.

Article #2, which I finally sent off yesterday. Article #1 is currently in R&R limbo. (Oh yeah. Someone wrote a song about it.)

2 Responses to “WIP Wednesday”

  1. kim June 23, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    You are such a good knitter! I have a few of Jared Flood’s patterns but cannot bring myself to try any of them with my limited knitting skills. Too bad we didn’t see you in Columbia! Maybe soon.

    • firstmute June 23, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      When I first started knitting, I twisted all my stitches for months. Try it! His patterns usually aren’t too difficult, they just have a lot of steps. And they’re really well written.

      I know, bummer that we missed seeing you. Soon!

Leave a Reply

