FO: Debbie Bliss Sun Dress

25 May

So, this is not actually my FO: it’s my mom’s, from this pattern (Rav link). And here she is, taking Abby for a walk in it:

Funny story. One day when I was sick, my mom taught me to crochet. I was about eight years old and obsessed with the nineteenth century, so I really took to it. Eventually she taught me to knit, too. For years and years, I clung to a narrative, that I believed she’d told me, in which her mom had taught her how to knit, and then she’d taught me to knit–you know, a real female tradition that I’d become a part of.

I told my mom that story once and she cracked up laughing. You see, she’d learned to knit from a book.

My fingers are crossed that Abby will want to learn, so when she tells people that same story it’ll be true.

5 Responses to “FO: Debbie Bliss Sun Dress”

  1. stitchandpurl May 26, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Aww, I love the sundress! Especially with those chubby bare legs!
    There are so many nice things to make for little girls, I’ve always found it harder to find cute boy patterns. If I ever have a daughter, I’ll probably be making dresses like this one all the time! πŸ™‚

    • firstmute June 2, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      I know, I have to say I was secretly thrilled when we found out we were having a girl just because of all the things I could make her! Every time Rae does a Celebrate the Boy month, though, I want the next one (if there is a next one) to be a little man.

  2. ruthie May 28, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    we Grandma’s need to see Grandma’s face! I can imagine though that she is in heaven and it shows on her face! The dress is marvelous – best dressed baby around. Love from “Grandma” Ruthie

    • ruthie May 28, 2011 at 2:59 am #

      I mean We Grandmas – no ‘ – whoops – that’s what I get for multitasking………

    • firstmute June 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      She is in heaven! I’m pretty sure they don’t care about having me around at all πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

