Mini Boden knock off

19 May

I saw a tutorial Mini Boden knock off tutorial over at Craftiness is Not Optional  and thought it would be perfect for this fabric. Or that the fabric would be perfect for it, whichever.

I am so thrilled with how this came out!

My parents bought Abby a really nice wooden walker with tasteful colors. Not us. We bought the hideous plastic monster.

It not only rolls but it also makes music, has a ball toss function, and works as a shape sorter. Abby is nuts about it. She was afraid of it at first but then started to get the hang of it. She likes to play with the spring-loaded toys on the side, glancing up at me every once in a while like, “Really, Mama? I really get to play with this?”

You are easily pleased, my child.

My absolute favorite part of this dress is the pockets. Tiny useless pockets! Well, I did put a leaf in one to try to get Abby to put her hand in there for the photos. She humored me for a few shots.

What has it gots in its pockets?

Fabric: Dots and Dashes, Windham Fabrics in Association with the Rocky Mountain Quilt Museum (repro). Bought from Purl Soho.

Mods and Notes: I shirred the sleeves because she has wee little arms. I think I might leave them unshirred next time, or unpick one and compare. The only thing I would do differently is cut the neck a little higher, because the shoulders are a bit wide. Oh, and if I were feeling really fancy, I would make a 1/4″ elastic casing around the neck so it didn’t curl down to show the hem. But I hate making elastic casings.

3 Responses to “Mini Boden knock off”

  1. Kristine May 20, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    LOVE the dress. My goodness – Abby is the best dressed baby in the world!

  2. firstmute May 20, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I have to take advantage of the fact that she’s too little right now to think Mama’s home sewing is totally dorky.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini Boden Inspired Summer Dress | Copycat Crafts - August 14, 2012

    […] Mini Boden knock off « The No-Method Method to Happy, Healthy Children. /* Filed Under: Kids Clothes, […]

Leave a Reply

