Shirt into baby skirt

17 May

ETA: I was well over 1,000 page views this morning, hooray! Feel free to de-lurk in celebration.

***

Since I’m almost out of FOs, I needed something quick to make during naptime. I’ve been meaning to get rid of this old t-shirt for a while–it’s gotten a little stretched out and unflattering since the last few washes. (Arguably, the horizontal striping was never that flattering to begin with, but that’s a topic for a different day.)

The scissors are labeled so they don't accidently get used to cut anything else.

I ran across this tutorial a while ago and worked from memory and common sense. (I say “common sense” like it actually is common, but until recently I referred to tutorials for hemming napkins.)

Basically, you cut a tube from the bottom, grab some fabric from the back to make a smaller tube for the waistband, gather the bottom tube, and stitch everything together.

Put on baby and exclaim over how quickly that came together!

Look at these adorable little feet. She’s highly motivated to walk because she refuses to crawl. She’ll scooch around on her belly when she wants to get somewhere, but she just won’t get up on her hands and knees. I know she can do it because I’ve seen her do it in the bathtub; somehow, she hasn’t made the conceptual leap to realizing that she can do it on the floor, too.

Yes, we have a cat.

Oh, and the childproofing’s going really well.

7 Responses to “Shirt into baby skirt”

  1. stitchandpurl May 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Aww, the skirt looks too sweet on her! My son was like that too (with the walking, not the skirt) – he started crawling at 11 months after lots of cruising, only to abandon it again after two weeks to start walking.
    Have a lovely week!

  2. firstmute May 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    That’s comforting to hear. I’d basically written the crawling off, but maybe she’ll still get there!

  3. ruthie May 18, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Her first cousin once removed(guess who? :-)) was also a non crawler – crawled for three weeks – then walked when she was just a little past 10 months old. Love reading your site – love the masterful handwork you do. Amazing! Love to you all. Looking forward to meeting Abby.

    • firstmute May 19, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Lo and behold, she actually started crawling just last night! I couldn’t believe it.

      • stitchandpurl May 19, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

        She probably knew you were talking about it! Well done, girl! 🙂

  4. Leslie May 19, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    De-lurking! I saw the site on your Facebook page a week or so ago and read through the whole thing in a couple hours. I love your crafting projects. I am woefully inept with these sorts of things, but I love seeing other people do it.

    • firstmute May 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Aw thanks! It’s just practice. But I discovered two woefully inept mistakes in two separate projects last night, so, you know, the confidence boost is nice.

Leave a comment