Denim shorts refashion

2 May

A few weeks after giving birth, when I realized that I was not going to fitting back into my size 26 jeans any time soon, my sister gave me some lovely James Jeans that she had shrunk out of. Four months of swaying back and forth while holding a crying baby later, those jeans had giant holes in the thigh area.

Snicker snack! I kept the outside seam but couldn’t keep the original hem, because the legs were too narrow.

These came together pretty easily, despite the fact that I was using them to recover from the frustration of a professional rejection. I used a needle for heavy fabrics, set my tension high, and crossed my fingers. It must have worked, because my cheap-o sewing machine survived.

The insides could be neater–but who’s looking?

Mods and notes: The jeans had a pretty significant fade, so I cut the bottom insert from the darker bottom and the legs from the faded thighs. Instead off a bulky casing at the waist, I chopped off a few inches and added a knit waistband, tutorial here. You can see the waistband in the second picture. (Let’s be honest: they look a little like maternity pants. But they sure are easy to get on and off.)

Now I can’t decide what to do about the hems. The long strips in the top photo are for a bound hem, but I kind of want to leave them cuffed for a while so she can grow into them. Maybe I’ll hem them at the beginning of next summer, if they survive that long. She seems happy for right now!

Pattern: Big Butt Baby pants, of course
Fabric: Upcycled James Jeans

3 Responses to “Denim shorts refashion”

  1. Destri {The Moter Huddle} May 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Okay, I seriously can’t get enough of your little ones bum. It is the cutest 🙂 Thank you so much for the mention, do you mind if I include your projects in a round-up? Let me know!

    • firstmute May 12, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      I’d be thrilled! I loved the tutorial–such a good idea and really helpful for reducing bulk with a heavy fabric 🙂

  2. Karen @ Folk Haven May 25, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    These look great… so cute! I had a lot of fun making big butt pants of many varieties when my LO was a bit younger.

Leave a Reply

