FO: A Living Room

4 Sep

Oh, hello! We moved. Five days in hotels, one insanely hectic day of closing, and then weeks of chaos, and we’re finally kind of settled in. Oh, and I also started a new full-time job and have about three weeks to finish my dissertation. It’s been awesome.

But I have been doing some sewing in the mornings before Abby’s school. She hangs out in my office/ craft room, and I sew. I used to feel a little guilty about sewing instead of playing with her, until I asked myself what Ma would do–more on that in another post, since evidently what I thought Ma would do is a little different from what she actually may have done. Anyway, obviously Ma would not have followed a toddler around catering to its every whim, right? Right.

But that’s not the point of this post, which is to show off the very large FO that is our living room floor. Backstory: when we bought this house, it smelled like dog. Really smelled. Smelled to the point that we asked the sellers to rip up the carpet, which they did, but which left us with a pee-soaked subfloor.

So we primed the floor, bought a table saw, and begged my parents to come up.

Then we laid down a LOT of wood laminate.

(Oh yeah, and we painted, too.)

And promptly scattered sh*t everywhere, like we do. But I think it came out pretty well! Abby has a nice little play space, and we’ve got (in theory) separate areas for conversation and TV-watching, not that there’s been a whole lot of that going on what with my crazy schedule and Chris in his first semester of law school. But we’re holding it together. (Barely.)

And yes, the picture are totally unedited. I’ve been putting off posting because I feel like I don’t have time to 1) take nice pictures or 2) edit them, but, eh, I’d rather keep moving forward. Forward!

4 Responses to “FO: A Living Room”

  1. Ruth Miller September 4, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    OK Josie – what does FO stand for? And what kind of job did you get? Your dad mentioned you were working for someone in San Francisco – is that the job? Great pictures and great writing. Glad you had time to post something. Ruthie

    • firstmute September 4, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      Ha! “FO” is just shorthand for “Finished Object.” Knitting blogs go crazy for it.

      I’m editing educational writing for, yep, a company in SF. It’s fun :)

      • ruth miller September 5, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

        I would never have figured that one out – now I can rest my brain! Thanks! Your job sounds perfect as long as you can work from home and only travel to SF once in awhile. How did you find such a job – connections through school maybe?

  2. Jenny September 12, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    Wow – that pee soaked floor must’ve been a bummer. But beautiful laminates! I’ve got the same thing in my house (but I’m a renter) and the walls are painted about the same. I do wish I had those French Doors – loooove them (the house I grew up in had them). Good luck with everything you’ve got going on!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

