FO: Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress

17 Apr

Even better the second time. The last one I made was an 18-24 mo and it just fits her now:

Image

So I went up to the 2T for this one. The airplane fabric (Moda, from Purl Soho) has been sitting in my stash for a long time, since way before A appeared. I originally meant to make something boy-related, but, well, I didn’t have a boy.

Image

It was going to become an Oliver + S bucket hat, but after tracing and cutting the pattern, I realized the print needed a larger canvas–perfect for this dress.

Not our cacti.

Then I couldn’t figure out what fabric to use for the yoke and hem. I bought some gray and pink solid cotton that I was going to use, but it was a little too lackluster for me to get excited about.

Image

Pretend you can't see the gathering stitches that I forgot to remove.

Enter the bright red cotton. This was in a stack of remnants that my mom passed along, and I was afraid the whole time that the color would end up too bold. But I actually love it! She wore it yesterday to the park and already got a compliment. I took these pictures at the end of the day, hence the wrinkles and mac + cheese stains.

Image

Mac + cheese stains optional (I hope).

The next one is going to be the colorblock version. I’ve already got the fabric laid out, but it’s going to have to wait until I get back. I’m leaving early tomorrow morning for whirlwind West Coast trip that’s going to involve three meetings, two presentations, and one video interview. (And hopefully one visit from my sister!)

A has learned to smile on command, with questionable succes.

Oliver + S is genius. Their patterns are so well made and so carefully explained that the finished product is just guaranteed to come out beautifully. Expensive, sure, but I think absolutely worth it. I can’t make up my mind which one to buy next. I think maybe the puppet show blouse, especially because A is currently obsessed with puppet shows.

2 Responses to “FO: Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress”

  1. Cathy Hazelwood April 17, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I saw A with her grandma at Sims Park in the first ice cream dress. She and the dress are adorable. Oliver and S badmitton skort, shirt and dress is super cute as your next option. I’m Meghan Hazelwood’s mom and sew for every one except a grandchild!

    • firstmute April 17, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      But I bet you’d love to sew for a granchild too! That pattern’s cute–I want more people to sew it so I can see what it looks like made up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

