In Review: 2011

31 Dec

Finished sewing projects, only a few of which I actually want to link to: 32

Finished knitting projects (at least, four finished and blogged. It’s possible I left some out): 4

Thoughts:

I haven’t been knitting very much. It’s partly because I’m having trouble committing to projects, and it’s also because I’m not making good use of my knitting time. C almost always drives when we go somewhere, and I never bring my knitting. If I knit every time I was in the car, I’d probably have at least … SIX finished projects!

There’s been a big learning curve with the sewing. I’m getting better at picking fabric, that’s for sure, but I still have a lot to learn.

Resolutions for 2012:

  • Buy fabric with a specific project in mind (at least until I learn more about buying fabric)
  • Branch out from quilting cottons!
  • Focus on one major knitting project at a time
  • Spend less time thinking about sewing and knitting and more time actually doing it!
  • Don’t let 75% finished projects sit around for six months.

Goals for 2012:

  • Knitted: 12
  • Sewn: 24, including a handful of items that I actually wear

We have a big, exciting (and scary!) year coming up, so I may get derailed. But creating things is really important to my mental well-being, and I’m going to try to do it more mindfully this year.

3 Responses to “In Review: 2011”

  1. Ruth Miller January 11, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Hey Josie – looking forward to reading more! Keep up the good work – any number of projects finished is fabulous – we can always do more, but celebrating what we have accomplished is the key in my mind. I think it’s a great idea to write it down. What is bringing you a big, exciting (and scary)2012? Just curious……….Ruthie

    • firstmute January 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      We’re moving somewhere unknown, because Chris is going to law school! Another big set of changes 🙂

  2. Chica Andaluza January 13, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Well done on what you achieved last year and good luck with the projects for 2012!

Leave a comment